A new streamlined facility to delete staff member records presents a hierarchical view of the data areas for deletion, prompting you to confirm your selection and maintain a full audit trail by leaving ‘reason why’ notes. Access to this facility is controlled within your business via the user privileges, the user must be setup as a Supervisor (as seen below):
If there has been a request to delete a staff member, you can now delete the user, as well as any related records (except paid remuneration, breaches & complaints) within the Setup> Staff List area.
Start by navigating to Setup> Staff List> Into the Staff member record:
Go up to the top filemaker menu and go into Data> Advanced>Delete> Delete record:
(Be careful not to select 'Delete all ## record(s)?' as this will take you to a different view where you can delete multiple adviser records)
This will take you into the 'Delete Adviser Record' area:
Associated records can be seen on the left hand side, this will show you a tally of all records against the adviser record, which will include the Tasks,CPD, references etc...
If you need to delete an element of the adviser record, but not the adviser record itself, you can click into the area you would like to view and delete each record individually.
It is good practise to check any warnings or more buttons before deleting.
For the example below, the adviser has 1 work record. Click into the work area to view the item:
When you are ready to delete, click the 'Delete' button, this will delete the item and a message will appear:
Once deleted, you can 'Return' to the adviser record view, or stay on the screen you are currently on.
Records NOT deleted
Complaints, breaches and reconciled fees will not be deleted and will remain in the system once the staff record has been deleted:
You can also leave 'reason why' notes within the adviser deletion notes area:
These notes will pull through to the deletions register within Setup> Staff List> Registers.
Deleting the staff record
Within the 'Delete Adviser Record' area, you can delete the entire record, which will include all related records linked to the user (except reconciled remuneration, breaches and complaints)
If you need to delete the user, click the 'Delete' button at the bottom on the page:
Specify whether it is a Internal or Staff request:
Once the deletion has completed, you will get a confirmation message - 'Stay' will keep you in the deletion view (which will now be blank) and 'Return' will take you back to a blank staff record:
A register of staff deletion requests can be viewed, extracted or printed within Setup> Staff List> Registers.
The register of staff deletion requests will show all deletions done within the system. They are date & time stamped with the user who deleted the record, notes, as well as the deleted record and type. As seen below: