Designated users have the ability to mark research as shared so that it can be imported by other users. You mark research as shared simply by clicking on the not shared link on the menu bar. You can stop sharing the research by clicking on the link again (which is changed to Shared).
N.B. These links in the menu bar are only displayed if your system administrator has given you permission to create shared research.
This topic is covered at greater length in the section below about compliance and collaboration tools.